Night at the Pier

SAVE THE DATE! NIGHT AT THE PIER WILL BE MAY 11, 2015. Stay tuned for more information, and check out details from our 2014 event below.

Family Equality Council was proud to present its 2014 Night at the Pier, our premier East Coast event aimed at connecting the growing New York community of LGBTQ-headed families and supporters as well as advancing efforts to create equality for all families. 

Family Equality Council welcomed LGBTQ parents, allies and honorees on May 12th to Pier Sixty for an evening that included live performances and appearances by notables in the world of arts, entertainment, politics and the LGBTQ movement. 

Honorary Chairs

Nick Scandalios
Daryl Roth


Chely Wright and Lauren Blitzer-Wright

Chely Wright rose to fame as a commercial country singer, having released eight studio albums selling more than 1,000,000 copies in the U.S. and charted more than 15 singles on the Billboard charts.  Chely made history by being the first country music star to come out publicly as gay. She is married to activist and author Lauren Blitzer-Wright, who is currently Director of Marketing for Sony  Entertainment.  Watch the trailer for Chely's powerful documentary "Wish Me Away" here.

Read more about Chely Wright and Lauren Blitzer-Wright

Hostetter-Habib Award Recipient

Dr. Gerald P. Mallon

Gerald P. Mallon, DSW, is the Julia Lathrop Professor of Child Welfare and Executive Director of the National Center for Child Welfare Excellence Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College in New York City. 

Read more about Gerald P. Mallon

Event Chairs 

Frank Bua
Bernadette Coveney Smith
William Sherr


Host Committee

Alex Habib & Mark Hostetter ◊ Allen & Stuart Bell ◊ Amy Stevenson ◊ Anthony Chiafullo and Adam Gindi ◊ Barbara Ryan & Suzanne Iasenza ◊ Bernadette and Jennifer Coveney Smith ◊ BJ Holt ◊ Brad Prunty & Tony Russo ◊ Brian Esser & Kevin O'Leary ◊ Brian Lewis & Matt Hemberger ◊ Brian Maloney & Stelian Serban ◊ Brian Sheerin & Ken Weissenberg ◊ Bruce Cohen & Gabe Catone ◊ Christine Giorgio & Beanie Barnes ◊ Clifford Finn ◊ Daniel Gallagher & Peter Shearer ◊ Denis O'Hare & Hugo Redwood ◊ Douglas Carter Beane & Lewis Finn ◊ Erica & Marek Bowers ◊ Erik Botsford & Steve Manson ◊ Ford Huniford ◊ Fran Lichtman & Randy Rabney ◊ Frank Bua and Scott Carroll ◊ Gregg Cartagine & Reed Chaikin ◊ Gregg Kaminsky & Daniel MacDonald ◊ Hector Vazquez & James Stawniczy ◊ Dr. Howard Babushkin & Cataldo Urso ◊ Jamie Marks & Mark Scott ◊ Jay & Valerie Brown ◊ Jen Hatch and Sue Smith ◊ Joan Segall & Karen Primack ◊ Jordan Roth and Ritchie Jackson ◊ Karen & Ricardo Pascoe ◊ Katia Bouazza & Primavera Salvá ◊ Kelli Carpenter & Anne Steele ◊ Kim & Natalie Bergman ◊ L. Glenn Poppleton ◊ Luigi Caiola & Sean McGill ◊ Macky Alston & Nick Gottlieb ◊ Mark Corpron ◊ Meg Columbia-Walsh ◊ Michael Cisneros & Alex Hanson ◊ Mike Lubin ◊ Mindi Wernick ◊ Mordcai Blau ◊ Nick Scandalios & Ric Swezey ◊ Nir Liberboim & Jay Sammons ◊ Pam Godwin & Sam Lippitt ◊ Paul Brennan & Paulo Pacheco ◊ Paul LeGue ◊ Phil & Odile Birsh ◊ Richard Vaughn & Tommy Woelfel ◊ Robert Levine & Abraham Dweck ◊ Robin Schudmak & Michael Sheehan ◊ RoseAnn & George Hermann ◊ Scott Davenport & Bradley Dodson ◊ Scott Ellis ◊ Steven Fuchs & Brian Lancaster ◊ Tim Meyer & Mark Funk ◊ Tommy Starling & Jeff Littlefield ◊ Will Halm & Marcellin Simard ◊ William Sherr & Estevan Garcia


Nick Hanzel
Deputy Director of Development


Gold Sponsors


The McGill-Caiola Family

The Daryl and Steven Roth Foundation


Silver Sponsors



Bronze Sponsors

Primavera Salva & Katia Bouazza




Stelian Serban & Brian Maloney


Jay & Valerie Brown